Worrier? Warrior?

Worry: a state of anxiety and uncertainty over actual or potential problems.

Anxiety: a feeling of worry, nervousness, or unease, typically about an imminent event or something with an uncertain outcome.

Neurotic: suffering from, caused by, or relating to neurosis.

Neurosis: excessive and irrational anxiety or obsession.

I still remember the day my classroom teacher, Mr Smith* told me I was a “real worrier” in school. I must have been in about Standard 1 or 2, aged seven or eight.  Sure I worried. I worried about many things and I made a point of telling others of those worries, especially the teacher until I was mocked. One soon learns to hide oneself when you are not treated with respect or seriousness. I withdrew after that. Even a seven year old should be taken seriously. This comment annoys me to this day. He made me doubt my own worries. Was I worrying too much? Perhaps I was but that was who I was and still am to this day. I think I may have asked him to control the class better so that I could concentrate at one time too. Yes. I was that kid briefly. We annoyed each other!

image1

Issues that cause the most stress to those with Aspergers ©Been There. Done That. Try This! An Aspie’s Guide to Life on Earth

I am reading the book Been There. Done That. Try this! An Aspie’s Guide to Life on Earth and I am stunned by the statistics of the stressors for those with Aspergers. I shouldn’t really be surprised but to see in print but it’s nice to know I’m not the only one I suppose with neurotic tendencies.. This comes as a relief.

I think I’d like to be the 2% without anxiety. However without the anxiety then I wouldn’t be able to think of all sorts of possible scenarios, would I? Are those Aspies with anxiety better at problem solving? Isn’t it a natural tendency to see problems and find solutions? This is me putting a positive spin on the concept of anxiety and worry. At best we can learn to live with it. Accept you have anxiety and try to reduce the impact it has on ourselves.

Exercise
Exercise keeps coming up again and again everywhere I read. To combat anxiety and depression exercise helps. Whatever exercise suits your style go for it. If you have done none up till now, a gentle walk will make a difference. If you are already exercising then keep doing it. Increase the intensity if you don’t feel it’s enough. I wear a pedometer every day and I can see how many steps I walk. I can increase the steps if I see myself cutting back.

Animals
Animals also keep cropping up with anxiety and depression topics. Being around animals and petting them seems to have a calming affect on people. Animals do not judge. They accept you as you are. They are loving and forgiving. They are there for you. I so want to get a cat or two again. Just wondering if the timing is right. Travel and pets don’t mix well.

Relax
Be it reading a book, meditating, listening to good music or computer games, whatever makes you happy. Finding what you enjoy and doing it takes your mind off things that make you anxious. Call it distraction, call it what you will but if it works, do it.

Sleep
Get as much sleep as you need. We all know when we have less sleep than we need, that grumpiness sets in and the day doesn’t go as smoothly. When we get to sleep later than usual we know that we won’t be thinking quite as sharply as usual. There is a lot to be said for the expression: “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise”. This was Benjamin Franklin’s take on Aristotle’s words: “It is well to be up before daybreak, for such habits contribute to health, wealth, and wisdom.”

Food
You are what you eat. Feed yourself junk food and you will suffer the consequences. We already know all that. We really do. It may be easier to eat junk food than not but we can wean ourselves off it and processed food slowly. Each step in the right direction makes a difference. If you treat yourself with care and eat those vegetables and fruit and nuts and whole foods your mind will thank you for it along with the hips and thighs. One small change is all it takes.

*Not actual name

(Definitions sourced at http://www.google.com)

MUSIC
Imagine Dragons – Warriors

9 thoughts on “Worrier? Warrior?

  1. The stressor list: where does it come from? How were these categories and percentages obtained? Who came up with this? I’ve about had it with this type of “analysis” of Asperger people – No offense, but why would you “believe” this is accurate or even common sense?
    Good morning!

  2. Think about it: you can’t have more than 100% stress, and this adds up to 709 % stress. Whaaaah…?
    Is this supposed to describe one individual Asperger, a survey of a few, or all Asperger people? Is it self-described or tested? This stuff drives me crazy!

  3. I am definitely a worrier, and always have been. When I was a kid my mom would yell at me for asking “What if” questions a lot, such as, “What if I get lost on the field trip” or “what if a tornado blows our house down while we are at school and my dog get hurt?” She would reply, “What if that DOESN’T happen?” Which didn’t make sense to me, because if it DOESN’T happen then everything will be okay, but that doesn’t cancel out the fact that it COULD happen! I am going to look up that book you mentioned.

    • I would always ask “Why …” My Dad was so incredibly patient with me. He would always go and check in a book if he didn’t know. He bothered to try and answer me. He still has the patience of a saint if you ask me.
      I still haven’t finished the book mentioned. Distracted by a deadline and the summer sun. An Angel at my table! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Feel free to share your thoughts

